Symphony No. 5


In stock

SKU: 1943982 Category:


Schirmer Library of Classics Volume 1776

The Symphony for Organ No. 5 in F minor, Op. 42, No. 1, was composed by Charles-Marie Widor in 1879, with numerous revisions published by the composer in later years. The full symphony lasts for about 35 minutes.

The piece consists of five movements:

  1. Allegro vivace
  2. Allegro cantabile
  3. Andantino quasi allegretto
  4. Adagio
  5. Toccata

The fifth movement, in F major, is often referred to as just Widor's Toccata because it is his most famous piece. It lasts around six minutes. Its fame in part comes from its frequent use as recessional music at festive Christmas and wedding ceremonies.

Additional information

Weight 0.5001 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.