Six Suites (Fourth Edition)


  • by Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Editor: Dimitry Markevitch
  • Instrumental MusicCelloClassical

  • Accompaniment: Solo, Unaccompanied
  • Format: Musicbook/Songbook
  • Catalog #: 414-41059
  • Publisher: Theodore Presser Company

  • Publisher: Carl Fischer Music/Theodore Presser
  • Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
    Images may differ from the actual product.

SKU: 1903264 Category: Tags: , , ,


These six works for unaccompanied cello by Bach represent the baroque suites at their highest point of development, in the beauty of their melodies, the perfection of their counterpoint, their completely satisfying harmonies, and their brisk rhythms which capture the spirit of the dance in all its variety.

In Memory of Luigi Silva whose inspiration was the driving force for the undertaking of this edition. The fourth edition of “Six Suites for Solo Cello” is dedicated by the publisher to the memory of the eminent cellist and scholar Dimitry Markevitch whose life's work so greatly enhanced the cello repertoire and the lives of his colleagues and students.


  • Suite I
  • Suite II
  • Suite III
  • Suite IV
  • Suite V (Discordable)
  • Suite V (After the version for the Lute)
  • Suite VI
  • Additional information

    Weight 0.65 lbs


    There are no reviews yet.

    Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.