Six Suites for Violoncello solo BWV 1007-1012



  • by Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Editor: Andrew Talle
  • Instrumental MusicCelloClassicalFacsimile

  • Accompaniment: Solo, Unaccompanied
  • Format: Musicbook/Songbook
  • Catalog #: BA05277
  • Publisher: Baerenreiter-Verlag

  • Publisher: Kasseler Gross-Auslieferung (Barenreiter)
  • Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

SKU: 1001169 Categories: , Tags: ,


Synoptic Facsimile Volume

– Synopsis of the four autograph scores and the first print

– Enables a straightforward comparison at one glance

– The direct study of the sources has never been so easy

The suites are the very core of cello literature, with their timeless beauty accompanying cellists from their student years throughout the height of their professional careers.

Considering the works’ significance, the great number of editions in existence is not surprising. However, the composer’s autograph has not been preserved and is considered lost. This circumstance creates an exceptional challenge many editors faced over the years. The four autograph sources still in existence and the first print from 1824 show numerous small deviations, especially in terms of articulation markings and phrasing.

This facsimile edition is the first to juxtapose all four autograph sources as well as the first print (along with Bach’s own arrangement of Suite No. V for lute). For the first time, readers can compare a specific section in all sources at one glance. This allows for a straightforward and immediate consideration of all sources.


  • Suite I BWV 1007
  • Suite II BWV 1008
  • Suite III BWV 1009
  • Suite IV BWV 1010
  • Suite V BWV 1011
  • Suite VI BWV 1012
  • Additional information

    Weight 2.7 lbs


    There are no reviews yet.

    Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.