Four Pieces for Double Bass and Piano


  • by Frantisek Hertl | Revised by Stefan Schafer
  • Instrumental MusicBass (String, Upright, Contra)Classical

  • Series: Baerenreiter Urtext
  • Accompaniment: Piano accompaniment
  • Format: Book with Insert
  • Catalog #: BA11556
  • Publisher: Baerenreiter-Verlag

  • Publisher: Kasseler Gross-Auslieferung (Barenreiter)
  • Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
    Images may differ from the actual product.

SKU: 1000731 Category: Tags: , , ,


– New edition of a popular work from the double bass repertoire

– Includes a revised double bass part by Stefan Schäfer

– Foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger) by Stefan Schäfer

The renowned Czech double bass player, composer, conductor and teacher František Hertl (1906–1973) wrote many concert and teaching pieces for his instrument. An outstanding virtuoso, he had a consummate mastery of his instrument’s expressive potential and sound qualities.

These four pieces for double bass comprising a Prelude, Burlesque, Nocturne and Tarantella were composed in 1968. They have remained very popular among double bass players to the present day while being extremely challenging to play. Our edition adopts the musical text from the Supraphon edition of 1969. The double bass part and the Foreword have been revised by Stefan Schäfer, the solo double bassist of the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra.


I. Prelude

II. Burlesque

III. Nocturne

IV. Tarantella

Additional information

Weight 0.53 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.