The Oxford Book of Ceremonial Music for Organ, Book 2


    Organ Solo

  • Various
  • Editor: Robert Gower
  • Instrumental MusicOrganClassical

  • Accompaniment: Solo, Unaccompanied
  • Format: Musicbook/Songbook
  • Catalog #: 9780193528369
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press

  • Publisher:
  • Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
    Images may differ from the actual product.

SKU: 1345666 Categories: ,


The second Oxford Book of Ceremonial Music for Organ is a practical collection of repertoire covering a wide range of uses, from formal public events to more private occasions. The music is stylistically varied, encompassing both flamboyant extravagance and restrained solemnity. Selected with players of intermediate to advanced ability in mind, the collection includes established favourites and attractive new arrangements of well-known works, alongside newly commissioned pieces.

25 ceremonial pieces for manuals and pedals, in a variety of musical forms, suitable for use at services throughout the church's year or as recital repertoire

Original music for the instrument, spanning the seventeenth century to the present day, including compositions by J. S. Bach, Gigout, Hurford, Francis Jackson, Jongen, Reger, and Whitlock, plus commissions from Gabriel Jackson and George McPhee

Arrangements of well-known works, including movements from Debussy's Suite bergamasque, Elgar's Spirit of England, Handel's Almira, Kodaly's Háy Já nos, and Ireland's Downland Suite, plus Sousa's Washington Post March.

First publication of York Bowen's Wedding March alongside significant rediscoveries of organ repertoire by John Cook, Ernest Farrar, and Humphrey John Stewart

• Fugue on the Magnificat ('Meine Seele erhebt den Herrn'), J. S. Bach
• Scottish Legend from Two Piano Pieces, Op. 54, Amy Beach
• Wedding March, York Bowen
• Aria, Eugène Bozza
• Fanfare (Psalm 81, vv. 1 3), John Cook
• Clair de Lune from Suite bergamasque, Claude Debussy
• Solemn Prelude from 'For the Fallen' from Spirit of England, Op. 80, Edward Elgar
• Elegy, E. B. Farrar
• Toccata from 10 Pièces pour orgue, Eugène Gigout
• Two Dances: Chaconne and Sarabande from Almira, HWV 1, G. F. Handel
• Overture from Saul, HWV 53, G. F. Handel
• Paean, Peter Hurford
• Elegy from A Downland Suite, John Ireland
• Prelude on 'East Acklam', Francis Jackson
• Carillon for Louise and Nick, Gabriel Jackson
• Pièce pour grand orgue, Joseph Jongen
• Intermezzo from Háry János, Zoltán Kodály
• Prelude on 'Bunessan', George McPhee
• Prelude on 'Nun danket alle Gott', Karl Piutti
• Fugue from Variations and Fugue on the 'English National Anthem', Max Reger
• Ständchen (Serenade) from Schwanengesang, D. 957, Franz Schubert
• Etude from Trois Pièces, Op. 2, A. N. Skryabin
• The Washington Post March, John Philip Sousa
• Spanish Military March from the music-drama “Gold”, Humphrey John Stewart
• March 'Rustic Cavalry' from the Wessex Suite, Percy Whitlock

Additional information

Weight 1.3 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.