Reflections on the Mississippi


    Full/Conductor's Score

  • Michael Daugherty
  • Band MusicClassicalClassicalFull/Orchestra Score Only

  • Level / Grade: Level 5-6
  • Format: Musicbook/Songbook
  • Binding: Spiral binding
  • Catalog #: 04004652
  • Publisher: Michael Daugherty Music

  • Publisher: Hal Leonard Corporation
  • Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
    Images may differ from the actual product.

SKU: 1000942 Categories: , Tags: , , , ,


for Tuba and Symphonic Band

Full Score
Individual parts are available for rental only.

Reflections on the Mississippi (2015) for tuba and symphonic band was commissioned and premiered by the University of Michigan Symphony Band, conducted by Michael Haithcock, with Carol Jantsch, tuba (Philadelphia Orchestra), at the University of Michigan Hill Auditorium in Ann Arbor on February 6, 2015. The concerto, composed in memory of his father, Willis Daugherty (1929-2011), is a musical reflection on family trips during Michael's childhood to the Mississippi River near McGregor, Iowa. In July and October 2012, Daugherty returned to the Mississippi River to make two road trips along the “Great River Road” from McGregor to Hannibal, Missouri to collect musical ideas. The result is one of the composer's most poignant and powerful musical works to date. In this 22-minute tuba concerto, Daugherty has created a unique sound world that brilliantly captures and reflects the “sound and the fury” of the Mississippi River. The tuba soloist plays soulful melodies, jarring rhythms, prayerful chants and a New Orleans “second line” that propels the concerto to a virtuosic conclusion.

The number of players doubling each part is at the conductor's discretion, but should be in keeping with a balanced sound. One player per part recommended unless otherwise indicated.

Solo Tuba


2 Flutes

2 Oboes

English Horn

4 Bb Clarinets

Bb Bass Clarinet

2 Bassoons


Bb Soprano Saxophone

Eb Alto Saxophone

Bb Tenor Saxophone

Eb Baritone Saxophone

3 C or Bb Trumpets (straight metal mute; harmon mute, stem out)

4 F Horns

3 Trombones (1st/2nd Tenor, 3rd Bass; straight metal mute)

2 Euphoniums (straight metal mute)

Contrabass (1 or 2 players, 2 preferred)


Timpani (4 or 5 drums; 32“, 29”, 26“, 23”, 20)

Percussion (3 players; instruments are not shared):

1. Glockenspiel, Crotales (D, F, A, C), Xylophone, Small Tambourine, Vibraslap, Mark Tree

2. Vibraphone, Suspended Cymbal, Washboard, Woodblock, Bell Tree, Whip

3.Marimba (4 octaves), Snare Drum, Kick Drum, Castanets, Triangle, Chimes, Concert Bass Drum, Vibraslap

Additional information

Weight 1.4 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.