Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 3


SKU: 1190706 Category:


  • Each book groups pieces according to service needs: Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, Postludes
  • Tuneful, attractive repertoire, spanning 16th-21st centuries. with some new pieces written especially for the collection
  • Major composers for the instrument well represented
  • Pieces edited afresh to present music clearly and practically for players, with registration and tempo suggestions for each piece
  • Strong representation in ABRSM syllabus (from 2011)
  • Graded collection: (approx.)
    • Book 1: Grades 1-4
    • Book 2: Grades 4-6
    • Book 3: Grades 6-8

    This is a major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities. Compiler and editor Anne Marsden Thomas has drawn on her long experience of teaching and playing to select the most attractive, tuneful repertoire in two sets of graded anthologies: one set for manuals only (3 volumes), the second set for manuals and pedals (3 volumes).

    Within each book the pieces are grouped according to service needs into Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, and Postludes. The repertoire spans the 16th to the 21st century, with some new pieces written especially for the collection. A number of pieces throughout the collection have been selected for the ABRSM organ syllabus.

    The result is a wonderful collection of repertoire for all players, containing a wealth of attractive and varied pieces that will offer much practical support for church musicians and enrich and develop their playing. Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 1 was winner of the Music Industries Association's Best Classical Publication 2011.

    • Eventide (C. Hubert H. Parry )
    • Vater unser in Himmelreich (Georg Boehm )
    • Allegretto (Percy W. Whitlock )
    • Récit de Tierce en Taille (Nicolas de Grigny )
    • Allegretto (Felix Mendelssohn )
    • Werde munter, mein Gemüte (Sigfrid Karg-Elert )
    • Prelude (Johann Eberlin )
    • Intermezzo (Willibald Richter )
    • Interlude (Sigfrid Karg-Elert )
    • Cantique (Alexandre Boëly )
    • Interlude (J. H. Knecht )
    • October (Brian Solomons )
    • Prelude (M. G. Fischer )
    • Processional (Charles Hutchings )
    • O praise the Lord with one consent (W. T. Best )
    • Dialogue sur les Grands Jeux (Nicolas de Grigny )
    • Es ist das Heil uns kommen her (Carl Piutti )
    • Grand Choeur (Théodore Salomé )
    • Fanfare (Francis Jackson )
    • Lobe den Herren, den mächtigen König der Ehren (Max Reger )
    • Toccata in F (Dietrich Buxtehude )
    • Prelude (M. G. Fischer )
    • Fanfare (Richard Proulx )
    • Allegro (Felix Mendelssohn )
    • Nun danket alle Gott (Carl Piutti )
    • Valet will ich dir geben (J. S. Bach )

    Additional information

    Weight 0.58 lbs


    There are no reviews yet.

    Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.