Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 1


SKU: 1190704 Category:


  • Each book groups pieces according to service needs: Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, Postludes
  • Tuneful, attractive repertoire, spanning 16th-21st centuries. with some new pieces written especially for the collection
  • Major composers for the instrument well represented
  • Pieces edited afresh to present music clearly and practically for players, with registration and tempo suggestions for each piece
  • Strong representation in ABRSM syllabus (from 2011)
  • Graded collection: (approx.)
    • Book 1: Grades 1-4
    • Book 2: Grades 4-6
    • Book 3: Grades 6-8

    This is a major collection of organ music for students, players, and church musicians of all levels and abilities. Compiler and editor Anne Marsden Thomas has drawn on her long experience of teaching and playing to select the most attractive, tuneful repertoire in two sets of graded anthologies: one set for manuals only (3 volumes), the second set for manuals and pedals (3 volumes).

    Within each book the pieces are grouped according to service needs into Preludes, Interludes, Processionals, and Postludes. The repertoire spans the 16th to the 21st century, with some new pieces written especially for the collection. A number of pieces throughout the collection have been selected for the ABRSM organ syllabus.

    The result is a wonderful collection of repertoire for all players, containing a wealth of attractive and varied pieces that will offer much practical support for church musicians and enrich and develop their playing. Oxford Service Music for Organ: Manuals and Pedals, Book 1 was winner of the Music Industries Association's Best Classical Publication 2011.

    • Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern (J. C. Bach )
    • Diapason Piece (Samuel Wesley )
    • Chaconne (Johann Pachelbel )
    • Prelude (César Franck )
    • Cantabile in C (J. H. Knecht )
    • Let all mortal flesh keep silence (Henry Coleman )
    • Tranquilly (C. Hubert H. Parry )
    • Siciliano (A. Vivaldi/J. S. Bach )
    • Aria (Brian Solomons )
    • Pastorella (J. S. Bach )
    • En forme de canon (Théodore Salomé )
    • Musette (Michel Corrette )
    • Cantabile in F minor (J. H. Knecht )
    • Vesper Voluntary No. 3 (Edward Elgar )
    • St Peter (C. S. Lang )
    • Prelude (César Franck )
    • Finale (Johann Eberlin )
    • Élégie (Léon Boëllmann )
    • Verse (G. M. Trabaci )
    • Verse (Peter Hurford )
    • The Palace of the Forest of Lebanon (Brian Solomons )
    • Interlude (Henry Smart )
    • Verse (Domenico Zipoli )
    • Andante (J. C. Rinck )
    • Interlude (J. M. Henkel )
    • Prelude (J. C. Simon )
    • Prelude (J. K. F. Fischer )
    • Verse (Anon. Italian )
    • En Grand Jeu (J.-F. Dandrieu )
    • Toccata (Gottlieb Muffat )
    • Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir (Johann Krebs )
    • Dialogue (Louis Marchand )
    • Noël (Alexandre Boëly )
    • Toccata (Anon. Italian )
    • Processional (A. G. Ritter )
    • Prelude in F (Johann Krebs )
    • Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan (J. G. Walther )
    • Toccata (G. B. Martini )
    • Postlude (J. H. Knecht )
    • Batalha do sexto tom (Pedro de Araújo )
    • Toccata and Fugue (Anon. Italian )
    • Flourish (Alan Bullard )
    • Prelude in C (Johann Krebs )
    • Sortie (César Franck )
    • Voluntary (Samuel Wesley )

    Additional information

    Weight 0.58 lbs


    There are no reviews yet.

    Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.