Introduction to Art Song: Mezzo Soprano/Alto



  • Compiled: Joan Frey Boytim
  • Vocal MusicClassicalClassical

  • Accompaniment: Piano or Organ or CD or Online Media
  • Format: Book with Online Audio Tracks
  • Catalog #: 50600558
  • Publisher: G. Schirmer, Inc.

  • Publisher: Hal Leonard Corporation
  • Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
    Images may differ from the actual product.

In stock

SKU: 8323 Category: Tags: , ,


Joan Boytim has selected some of the easiest songs in English from The First Book of Solos series and transposed them for a different voice type for many of the selections in Introduction to Art Song, making the songs available to more students. Additionally, other suitable songs, not found in other Boytim collections, have been included. Each voice type has a unique song list. These books may be used by students in traditional voice lessons or by voice classes. Contents for the mezzo-soprano/alto volume include: ANIMAL CRACKERS (Richard Hageman) • AUTUMN (C. Alison-Crompton) • BLUEBIRD (Rudolph Schirmer) • COME TO THE FAIR (Easthope Martin) • THE GREEN CATHEDRAL (Carl Hahn) • THE GREEN DOG (Herbert Kingsley) • I LOVE ALL GRACEFUL THINGS (Eric H. Thiman) • INTO THE NIGHT (Clara Edwards) • A LITTLE CHINA FIGURE (Franco Leoni) • LONGING (Samuel Barber) • MUSIC, WHEN SOFT VOICES DIE (Samuel Barber) • NO FLOWER THAT BLOWS (Thomas Linley) • ORPHEUS WITH HIS LUTE (William Schuman) • THE POOL OF QUIETNESS (Thomas Vincent Cator) • REWARD (John Jacob Niles) • A SECRET (Roger Quilter) • THY LOVE (Samuel Barber) • WHEN DAISIES PIED (Thomas Arne)

“During the past 25 years, I have used the majority of Boytim's anthologies. I find these most recent publications to be the most useful of all. A student could use their voice type's volume for many years, eventually singing every song in it. They will be a staple in my studio in the future.”–American Music Teacher

Additional information

Weight 0.514 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.