Recital Suite Series: Blue Ridge Mountains


  • Judy East Wells
  • Piano MusicPiano RepertoireRepertoire

  • Level / Grade: Intermediate
  • Accompaniment: Solo, Unaccompanied
  • Format: Single Sheet (Quarto)
  • Catalog #: 48702
  • Publisher: Alfred Publishing

  • Publisher: Alfred Publishing
  • Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
    Images may differ from the actual product.

SKU: 1000043 Category: Tags: , ,


Blue Ridge Mountains captures the beauty of this section of the Appalachian Mountain range that stretches through the states from Georgia to Pennsylvania. The first movement, “Skyline Drive,” is a waltz with long lyrical lines. “Nantahala River Rapids” is a lively excursion in 6/8 time. Scale-like figures and sections with chromatic scales depict rafters moving through the swirling rapids. The slow third movement, “Brasstown Bald Blues,” gives a relaxed view of Brasstown Bald, the tallest mountain in Georgia. “Raven Rocks Rag” is reminiscent of a Scott Joplin rag without the large left-hand leaps. Its syncopated melodies lead performers through the hiking trails associated with Raven Rocks. The final movement, “Looking Glass Falls,” is majestic and suggests both the powerful energy of the falls in the summer and the sparkling sheets of ice in the winter.

Additional information

Weight 0.12 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.