Concerto in D minor, BWV 1043 for Two Violins


SKU: 1001771 Categories: , Tags: , , ,


Basso continuo, Harpsichord Part

Sometimes referred to as “the Bach Double” or the “Double Violin Concerto”, Bach composed his Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV 1043, around 1730. The concerto was created to be part of a concert series Bach ran as the Director of the Collegium Musicum in Leipzig.

In 2001 Bärenreiter issued a newly engraved keyboard reduction and solo parts to this concerto based on the acclaimed New Bach Edition.

The present expanded new publication goes a step further in that it offers not only the two solo violin parts as presented in the New Bach Edition, but also two additional parts with fingerings and bowings by the baroque specialist Andrew Manze.

Manze also offers players enlightened comments (English/German) on historical performance practices dealing with how the instrument was held, fingerings, bowing, shifting, the use of open strings and much much more.

The concerto comprises three movements:

  1. Vivace in D minor
  2. Largo ma non tanto in F Major
  3. Allegro

Additional information

Weight 0.22 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.